Wk12/ artist conversation/ Tiffany Le

Artist: Tiffany Le

Exhibition: Tau

Media: Watercolor, Colored Pencils, Charcoal, Acrylic, Pastel, and Ink.

Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Dennis W. Dutzi Gallery

Instagram: letealeaf

Website: http://www.letealeaf.prosite.com/


About the artist

Tiffany Le is a Vietnamese student here in  CSULB. She is currently in her last semester and will be getting her Masters of Fine Arts. Her work is highly influenced by the Vietnam war. This is due to the fact that her parents have gone through the effects of the war in their times. Le described of a time where she spoke to her parents, asking for information about the war. Her parents were very hard about giving that type of information, and she had to do some investigating on her own. Afterwards, from what she learned, it helped her convey emotion into her work.

Formal Analysis

   

   
  
Something that I notice in her paintings is the use of colors. She uses black a lot, which I believe conveys the darker side of the Vietnam war. The yellow color in the clothes seem to represent a lighter side, where people escaping from the war were carrying all these things and hoping for the best, but some parts of them can’t let go of the darker side of the war.

Content Analysis

I believe that this was about the journey that Vietnamese immigrants took when they left Vietnam. It shows a boat, in which the Vietnamese immigrants, including Le’s parents took. They would grab their belongings and take them on their journey to a new world. The boats also show the items they carry when the light is shone on them.

Synthesis/My Experience

This was very moving, mainly because I am also a 2nd generation immigrant. My mother brought me from South Korea, to Australia, to the United States. I have not been in my home country since I was an infant, so I do not have an extensive cultural background that I can reiterate. 

I think that Le’s wanting to learn more about herself, is also present in myself, and I could look at her work and think “wow, I wonder if my parents went through something like this too”. I am an anthropology major, and I have been studying all these different cultures, but why do I have little to no knowledge about my own culture? Le’s artwork brought up these kind of questions and thanks to these pieces, I went to my mother and asked her to tell me about me, but not as a Korean American, but only as a Korean.

Leave a Reply

