Wk8 / Artist Conversation /Bri Joy

Exhibition: Merge

Media: BFK reeves paper, screen, emulsion, ink, stencil, and light box

Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Gatov Gallery East

Website: None

Instagram: bri.joy

About the Artist:

Bri Joy is a transfer student from Orange Coast College, she transferred to CSULB and is in her final semester. She will be getting her Bachelor of Fine Arts in printmaking. She grew up in a small town, where it seemed that all of her neighbors seemed to know each other. Then she moved to the city and saw that people were completely different from back home. She likes to do active things for her hobbies such as hiking, skating, snowboarding, and surfing.

Formal Analysis:

The artwork is done with only black and white colors, and the design of the artwork makes it look very meticulous. I found out later that it took Bri lots of precision and time, she had to transfer her artwork from the screen to actual paper. She put ots of work into this and when I saw it a second time, with a fresh set of eyes, a pair that also has some extensive knowledge on how much work she had put into this, I saw different shapes within the artwork.

 

Content Analysis:

Bri’s inspiration came from the idea of a conception and color, the things that make them different, and what conjoins the two as well. For this exhibition, she chose to use only black and white as the colors for her art. This conveys a slight mystery for the viewers, allowing them to create their own mood of the artwork. This means that the viewers create their own meaning of the artwork,  by the absence of color and mood.

Synthesis:

As I stated before, the artwork makes me think of different hings when I see it with a fresh set of eyes. When I first saw the artwork, I thought of just scribble marks made in black and white. One of which had a scribble of a woman. However, when I learned of the hard work and dedication put into the artwork, I looked back at the artwork and saw a different artwork than the one I had just seen. I saw faces where it looked like scribble before, I saw letters, and other things that I had not noticed the first time. I think that When I saw the artwork with a better critical thinking approach, I saw the deeper layer of art within the artwork

Leave a Reply

