Week 5/ Artist Conversation / Andre Ritter

Artist: Andre Ritter

Exhibition: Fuse: Join to Form A Single Entity

Media: Silver, Copper, and Aluminum

Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Gatov Gallery East

Website: None

Instagram: None

About the Artist

Andre Ritter attended California State University Long Beach and has a Bachelor of Fine Arts in Metals.Ritter has children who love their father’s artwork. He enjoys reading comic books, playing volleyball, and going to art galleries. He hasn’t gotten a job related to his field but he hopes to set up an art program at a school. Ritter explained to me that he likes to use metals for work because metal lasts longer Many of his art have to do with aluminum because he finds it easier to work with than other metals. Many of his artwork have been inspired by nature, kinetic motion, the South Pacific, and other people’s arts.

Formal Analysis

 

The lamp has 3 sides, each with it’s own special design. Each side has  seperate rectangles that all have a different design as well. Each one has a design that is either jagged edges, or smooth ones that give a feeling of uniqueness. The lamp doesn’t have any flashy colors, enriching the “South Pacific” Vibe that Ritter was attempting to create.

Content Analysis

This piece by Ritter is a tropical lamp. When I first saw this lamp, it reminded me of my trip to Hawaii when I saw a lot of those designs. Andre explained that he made this lamp with the “Tropical Island” image in his head. He wished for it to give his audience the feeling of relaxation , as if they were resting on the beaches of the South Pacific.  He envisioned the lamp being in a shack near the beach, which ultimately gave him the inspiration.

Synthesis/ My experience

Personally, I really liked this lamp because it made me think back to my trip to Hawaii. It made me think about how when you are on vacation, you don’t worry about the things waiting back at home. The only thing you worry about is what kind of fun you are going to have the next day. Ritter’s lamp made me “feel” like I was back at Hawaii, while I was still back at California.

 

Leave a Reply

